So Marge and I took the early flight out of Amsterdam to Milan Saturday morning, 11/01. Of course we got back and crashed for a while. Marge slept for a good amount of time, and then we went to Siddhartha, an Indian apperativo. We met up with Aneri, and ate about 4 plates. Marge couldn't even drink her White Russian, she said that there was too much alcohol in it. Aneri and I tried it and told her it tasted nothing like alcohol....maybe we're too used to the strong Italian drinks.
Sunday we visited the Castle and the Duomo, both of which are really pretty. We paid to go to the top of the Duomo, where I hadn't even been either. We wrapped up the day with gelato, and prepped for our trip to Rome.

We left for Rome Monday afternoon. Our flight was half an hour late, so we weren't able to enter the Colosseum. It was absolutely gorgeous from the outside, I can only imagine how it would've looked from the inside. My lonely planet guide said that there was "Gladiator School" which I was all about. Marge didn't seem as enthusiastic....they were going to let us keep our tunics!
We then found our way into the Roman Forum, which was a series of ruins. They were pretty cool, but it was getting dark fast, so it was difficult to see. We sat down to figure out our next destination when this English guy pops in to take a picture behind us. His name was Dan, and we ended up hanging out with him all night. He's a Chelsea soccer fan in Rome for the game, and

decided to do some touristy things unlike all his friends that stayed back at the hotel. We led him to the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. Between those two monuments, we had dinner together, which was rather cute.
The Trevi Fountain was beautiful. Quite frankly, I would've been satisfied staying there all night. There were so many people there sitting on the steps. Dan had convinced Marge and I to buy beers on our way over to the Fountain...so we were the only three people drinking alcohol in front of it.
Right when we had left the ruins, we met "Spanish Rob," that's seriously how he introduced himself. He told us about a pub crawl that was happening that night, and Marge says to me, "Karen....when in Rome." That sealed the deal, and we met at the Spanish Steps. When Marge wants to drink, you drink.
So Dan met us there and we were led to the first pub. Turns out we were about 40 minutes late, and we were allotted 3 vodka redbulls there and as much beer as we wanted. We had ou

r drinks in 20 minutes, with Marge participating in a chugging contest. She was sooo funny. (Obviously she lost....) She only drank it so she could get more beer for Dan, she's too sweet.
From there things got hazy...we just went to like, three pubs and a club. Being a tourist and all, I had my backpack on the pub crawl. We didn't have time to go back to the hostel, so I guarded my bag while Marge danced her little booty off. We met so many people that night, and I don't remember any of them. Everyone was so friendly, it was pretty awesome.
We end up splitting a taxi with two other kids, and on our way back to our hostel, Marge and I decided that it would be a great idea to try to puke in the street. I can't pull the trigger, so basically I was trying to get myself to feel nauseous. Then some guy came up to us, and tried talking to us. It was super creepy, but it was awesome cuz he could understand my Italian! We scampered back into our hostel, and Marge and I basically took turns throwing up in the bathroom.
Now...you have to understand that we were in a coed dorm, with five other guys, and just us two. The walls were really thin, so they could hear us...or me mainly, throwing up and drive heaving. Marge only threw up about 3 times and was fine, but I think I threw up at least 10 times. It was terrible. I knew I had to get it out of my system before the morning because we were planning to visit the Vatican. How great would that be, "hey Pope, how ya doin?" and then throw up at his feet.
We planned to wake up at 7am, but we didn't leave til 8:15 cuz I was still a mess. We moved super slow because of me, and somehow found St. Peter's Basilica at our feet. It was

ENORMOUS! It felt so unreal to be there. We joined a tour (our tour guide was named Angelo!) to enter into the Vatican Museum, so we checked out the Sistine Chapel. It was really inspiring to be there. How could Michelangelo have painted that! Then we went to St. Peter's Basilica, and it's even bigger from the inside than the outside.
We had lunch, and then took the flight home Tuesday night...which was actually an hour late. Rome is definitely my favorite city in Italy, I really wish I could have studied abroad there, or at least spent some more time. It's too bad, but I'll definitely go back some day, or within the year.